Multimedia Systems Group

Professor Vivienne Sze


Principal Investigator

Vivienne Sze

Vivienne Sze received the B.A.Sc. (Hons) degree in electrical engineering from the University of Toronto, Toronto, ON, Canada, in 2004, and the S.M. and Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA, in 2006 and 2010 respectively. She received the Jin-Au Kong Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Prize in electrical engineering at MIT in 2011.

Since August 2013, she has been with MIT as an Assistant Professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department. Her research interests include energy-efficient algorithms and architectures for portable multimedia applications. From September 2010 to July 2013, she was a Member of Technical Staff in the Systems and Applications R&D Center at Texas Instruments (TI), Dallas, TX, where she designed low-power algorithms and architectures for video coding. She also represented TI at the international JCT-VC standardization body developing HEVC, the latest video coding standard. Within the committee, she was the primary coordinator of the core experiment on coefficient scanning and coding.

She was a recipient of the 2007 DAC/ISSCC Student Design Contest Award and a co-recipient of the 2008 A-SSCC Outstanding Design Award. She received the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Julie Payette fellowship in 2004, the NSERC Postgraduate Scholarships in 2005 and 2007, and the Texas Instruments Graduate Woman's Fellowship for Leadership in Microelectronics in 2008. In 2012, she was selected by IEEE-USA as one of the "New Faces of Engineering".



Graduate Students

Yu-Hsin Chen

Yu-Hsin Chen is from Taipei, Taiwan. He received the B. S. degree in Electrical Engineering from National Taiwan University in 2009, and the M. S. degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2013. He is currently pursuing a Ph.D. with Prof. Vivienne Sze.  His research interests include VLSI System Design, Video Coding and Digital Signal Processing. His current research focuses on the architecture design for High Efficiency Video Coding standard and algorithms for future video coding schemes.

James Noraky

Amr Suleiman

Amr Suleiman received the B.S. in Electronics and Electrical Communications Engineering in 2008 from Cairo University, Egypt, and the M.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from MIT in 2013. He is currently working toward his Ph.D. under the supervision of Prof. Vivienne Sze. His work focuses on developing new energy-efficient implementations for machine vision (detection, recognition, tracking …). In addition to optimizations at the architecture and circuit level, system optimization is done at the algorithmic level to efficiently trade-off accuracy & complexity.

Mehul Tikekar

Mehul Tikekar received the B.Tech degree in electrical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai, India, in 2010. He received the S.M. degree in electrical engineering and computer science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, in 2012 where he is currently pursuing the Ph.D. degree under the supervision of Prof. Anantha Chandrakasan and Prof. Vivienne Sze.  His research focuses on low power system design and hardware optimized video coding. Mr. Tikekar was a recipient of the MIT Presidential Fellowship in 2011.

Zhengdong Zhang

Zhengdong Zhang received the B.S. in Computer Science in 2011 from Tsinghua University, Beijing, China. He received the M.S. degree in Computer Science from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge in 2014. Between 2011 and 2012 he worked in Microsoft Research Asia, Beijing, China, as an Assistant Researcher. He is pursuing the Ph.D. degree under the supervision of Prof. Vivienne Sze. His research interest spans the area of sparsity, low-rank matrix recovery, symmetry/regularity of textures, 3D computer vision, computational photography and vision systems. His current research focuses on the design of energy-efficient vision systems.


Undergraduate Students

Ariana Eisenstein
Daewook Kim
Tran Nguyen