Multimedia Systems Group

Professor Vivienne Sze

Principal Investigator: Vivienne Sze



  • Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering, MIT, 2010
  • S.M. in Electrical Engineering, MIT, 2006
  • B.A.Sc. (Hons) in Electrical Engineering, University of Toronto, 2004


  • 6.S082/6.888 Hardware Architecture for Deep Learning, Fall 2017
  • 6.344 Digital Image Processing, Spring 2014, Spring 2017
  • 6.374 Analysis and Design of Digital Integrated Circuits, Fall 2013 – 2016, 2018
  • 6.003 Signals and Systems, Spring 2018
  • 6.01 Intro to EECS I, Spring 2015
  • MIT Professional Education Short Course on Designing Efficient Deep Learning Systems

Awards and Fellowships

  • 2017 CICC Best Invited Paper Award
  • 2017 Qualcomm Faculty Award
  • 2016 Google Faculty Research Award
  • Paper “Eyeriss: A Spatial Architecture for Energy-Efficient Dataflow for Convolutional Neural Networks” selected for IEEE Micro “Top Picks in Computer Architecture” for 2016
  • 2016 AFOSR Young Investigator Research Program (YIP) Award
  • 2016 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award
  • 2014 DARPA Young Faculty Award (YFA)
  • 2011 Jin-Au Kong Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Prize in electrical engineering at MIT
  • 2008 A-SSCC Outstanding Design Award
  • 2007 DAC/ISSCC Student Design Contest Award
  • Texas Instruments Graduate Women’s Fellowship for Leadership in Microelectronics in 2008
  • Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Postgraduate Scholarships in 2005 and 2007
  • Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Julie Payette Fellowship in 2004
  • University of Toronto Adel S. Sedra Gold Medal, Henry G. Acres Medal and W.S. Wilson Medal in 2004

Professional Activities

  • Technical Program Committee, Symposium on VLSI Circuits (2016, 2017, 2018)
  • Program Committee, IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Microarchitecture (MICRO) (2017, 2018)
  • Technical Program Committee, 2019 IEEE International Conference on Image Processing (ICIP)
  • Guest Editor for special issue on “Efficient HEVC Implementations” in IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology (TCSVT)
  • Elected Member of the IEEE Signal Processing Society’s Image, Video, and Multidimensional Signal Processing Technical Committee (IVMSP TC) (2014 – 2016)
  • Elected Member of the IEEE Signal Processing Society’s Design and Implementation of Signal Processing Systems Technical Committee (DISPS TC) (2014 – 2016)
  • Session Chair for special session on “Efficient Design of HEVC Video-Codec Implementations” at 2014 IEEE International Conference on Image Processing (ICIP)