Center for Excitonics

People

Faculty/Principal Investigators


Marc Baldo

baldo@mit.edu
phone: 617.452.5132
office: 13-3053
MIT

(Center Director) Baldo pioneered phosphorescent OLEDs - now standard for high efficiency solid state lighting.

Group Members:
Dong-Gwang Ha, Ting-An Lin, Brian Modtland, Collin Perkinson, Saima Siddiqui, Mengfei Wu

Alan Aspuru-Guzik

alan@aspuru.com
phone: (617) 384-8188
fax: (617) 496-9411
office: M113
Harvard University

Aspuru-Guzik pioneered the application of open quantum systems to understand energy transfer in natural and artificial antennas.

Group Members:
Doran Bennett, Samual Blau, David Glebwaser,  Florian Hase, Christoph Kreisbeck, Thomas Markovich, Semion Saikin, Nicolas Sawaya, Dennis Sheberla, Tony Wu

Mark Bathe

mbathe@mit.edu
phone: 617-324-5685
office: 16-255
MIT

Bathe is developing computational procedures to design structured 3D biological assemblies. We use these as scaffolds for multichromophore complexes that form nanoscale synthetic excitonic antennas.

Group Members:
James Banal, William Bricker, Remi Veneziano

Moungi Bawendi

mgb@MIT.EDU
phone: (617) 253-9796
fax: (617) 253-7030
office: 6-221
MIT

Bawendi pioneered the science and technology of colloidal semiconductor quantum dots and led the spectroscopy of quantum dots at the ensemble and single quantum dot scale.

Group Members:
Sophie Bertram, Justin Caram, Lea Nienhaus, Michel Nasilowski, Collin Perkinson, Timothy Sinclair, Katherine Shullenberger, Hendrik Utzat

Charles Black

ctblack@bnl.gov
phone: 631-344-3093
fax: 631-344-3093
Brookhaven National Laboratory

Black pioneered nanometer-scale self assembly in lithography.

Vladimir Bulovic

bulovic@mit.edu
phone: (617) 253-7012
fax: (617) 452-5110
office: 13-3138
MIT

Bulovic and colleagues demonstrated the first electroluminescence from an exciton polariton and also pioneered QD-LEDs.

Group Members:
Deniz Bozyigit, Thomas Mahony, Mengfei Wu, Sihan Xie, Tony Zhu

Eric Dauler

edauler@ll.mit.edu
phone: 781-981-5707
office: LL-S3-132
MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Dauler and his colleagues are using superconducting nanowire single photon detectors to study the dynamics of lower energy excitons that emit in the short-wave infrared (SWIR). These detectors have enabled studying individual colloidal quantum dots at SWIR wavelengths.

Mircea Dincă

mdinca@mit.edu
phone: 617-253-4154
fax: (617) 258-7500
office: 6-335
MIT

The Dincă Lab is focused on challenges related to the storage and consumption of energy and global environmental concerns. Central to our efforts is the manipulation of electrochemical and photophysical processes in inorganic materials, with a current emphasis on microporous materials.

Group Members:
Bobby Day, Lei Sun

Dirk Englund

englund@mit.edu
phone: (617) 324-7014
office: 36-591
MIT

Englund's research focuses on controlling light-matter interactions at the scale of single photon and single emitters, leveraging light confinement in novel nanophotonic devices.

Group Members:
Hyeongrak Choi, Christopher Foy, Gabrielle Grosso, Cheng Peng

Pablo Jarillo-Herrero

pjarillo@mit.edu
phone: (617) 253-3653
office: 13-2017
MIT

Jarillo-Herrero's group works on the optoelectronic and energy harvesting properties of novel 2-dimensional materials, such as graphene and transition metal dichalcogenides. In the center, his work is focused on the fabrication of ultrathin van der Waals heterostructures made of 2D materials for novel photovoltaic and LED devices.

Group Members:
Yaqing Bie, Qiong Ma, Luiz Martins, Efren Navarro-Moratalla, Melis Tekant

Jing Kong

jingkong@mit.edu
phone: (617) 324-4068
office: 13-3065
MIT

Kong's group is designing new strategies to make graphene, MoS2, and other novel 2D materials with desired physical, chemical qualities. The in-depth understanding in how to make those materials is enabling us to develop brand new architectures for high-performance electronics and energy conversion.

Group Member:
Xiang Ji, Luiz Martins

Leonid Levitov

levitov@mit.edu
phone: (617) 253 6817
Fax: (617) 253 2562
office: 6C-345
MIT

Levitov's current interests include: quantum transport, solid-state quantum computing, cold atoms, exciton BEC, quantum noise, and growth and pattern formation.

Group Member:
Brian Skinner

Ju Li

liju@mit.edu
phone: 617-253-0166
office: 24-202
MIT

Ju Li is interested in the structure and excitonic properties of 2D materials, as well as electron microscopy characterizations.

Group Member:
Wenbin Li

Gabriela Schlau-Cohen

gssc@mit.edu
phone: 617-253-1478
office: 6-225
MIT

Schlau-Cohen studies the energetic and structural dynamics of biological and bio-inspired systems using ultrafast and single-molecule spectroscopy, with a particular focus on understanding nanoscale energy transport.

Group members:
Wei Jai Chen, Jesse Gordon

Eric Stach

stach@seas.upenn.edu
220 South 33rd Street, 107 Towne Building
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6391
UPenn, formerly at BNL

Stach's research interests focus on the development and application of electron microscopy techniques to solve materials problems in catalysis, energy storage, thin film, and nanostructure growth and materials deformation. The development and application of new instrumentation has been a critical component of his research focus.

Will Tisdale

tisdale@mit.edu
phone: 617-253-4975
office: 66-458
MIT

Will Tisdale studies charge and energy transfer in nanostructured materials using ultrafast and near-field scanning optical microscopy techniques, with particular emphasis on semiconductor nanocrystals.

Group Members:
Aaron Goodman, Elizabeth Lee, Watcharaphol Paritmongkol,  Kris Williams

Troy Van Voorhis

tvan@mit.edu
phone: (617) 253-1488
office: 6-229
MIT

Van Voorhis pioneered the use of constrained density functional theory (DFT) for the description of electron transfer and exciton formation in OLEDs.

Group Members:
Nadav Geva, Zhou Lin, Alexandra McIsaac, Hongzhou Ye

Adam Willard

awillard@mit.edu
phone: 617-253-1480
office: 6-231
MIT

Willard studies the dynamics of excitons in environments that are disordered on nanometer length scales using statistical mechanics and numerical simulations of quantum dynamics.

Group Members:
Elizabeth M Lee, Chee Kong Lee

Previous

PostDocs


James Banal

jbanal@mit.edu
office:16-223
phone: 617.324.0512

 

Bathe Group

Doran Bennett



Aspuru-Guzik Group

Yaqing Bie

yqbie@mit.edu
phone: (617) 253-6803
office: 13-2065



Jarillo-Herrero Group

Deniz Bozyigit

denizb@mit.edu
phone: (617) 253-1956
office: 6-026

 

Bulovic Group

William Bricker

wbricker@mit.edu
phone: (617) 324-6216
office: 16-223

Bathe Group

Bobby Day

rwday@mit.edu
phone: 617-253-6192
office: 2-316



Dinca Group

Dimtri Efetov

defetov@mit.edu
office:  36-680C

 
Englund Group

Gabriele Grosso

ggrosso@mit.edu
office: 36-680C


Englund Group

Xiang Ji

xiangji@mit.edu
office: 13-3077
phone: 617-682-2514

 

Kong Group

Toru Kondo

tkondo@mit.edu
lab: 18-082
phone: (617) 253-1904


Schlau-Cohen Group

Zhou Lin

zhoulin@mit.edu
phone: 617-253-1539
office: 6-226


Van Voorhis Group

Qiong Ma

qiongm@mit
phone: (617) 253-6803



Jarillo-Herrero Group

Lea Nienhaus

nienhaus@mit.edu
phone: 617-715-4526
office: 2-216

Bawendi Group

Brian Skinner

skinner1@mit.edu
phone: 617-253-3896
office: 4-345C

Levitov Group

Dennis Sheberla

denn@mit.edu
phone: (617) 324-2161
office: 6-433

Aspuru-Guzik Group

Kris Williams

Tisdale Group

Previous

Students


Sophie Bertram

sophieb@mit.edu
phone: 617-253-8594
office: 2-216

Bawendi Group

Sam Blau

sblau@fas.harvard.edu
office: M-105A
phone: (510) 847-1029

Aspuru-Guzik Group

Hyeongrak Choi

choihr@mit.edu

Englund Group

Christopher Foy

cfoy3@MIT.EDU
office: 36-595

Englund Group

Nadav Geva

gevahn@mit.edu
office: 6-226

 

Van Voorhis Group

Aaron Goodman

ajgoodm@mit.edu
phone: 617.324.9637
office: 66-253b

Tisdale Group

Jesse Gordon

gordonj@mit.edu
office: 18-084
phone: 617-253-1904

 
Schlau-Cohen Group

Dong-Gwang Ha

hdg@mit.edu
phone: 617-324-2129
office: 13-3041


Baldo Group

Elizabeth M. Lee

emyl3196@mit.edu
Office: 2-221



Willard/Tisdale Groups

Chee Kong Lee

cheekong@mit.edu
phone: 617-253-1000
office: 2-221


Willard Group

Ting-An Lin

tinganl@mit.edu
office: 13-3061
phone: 617-324-3608
 


Baldo Group

Thomas Markovich

markovich@fas.harvard.edu
office: M-493, 12 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA 02138



Aspuru-Guzik Group

Luiz Gustavo Pimenta Martins

lmartins@mit
phone: (617) 291-9172

 


Kong Group

Alexandria McIsaac

Van Voorhis Group

Brian Modtland

modtland@mit.edu
phone: 617-324-3608
office: 13-3061

Baldo Group

Watcharaphol Paritmongkol

wparit@mit.edu
phone: 617-324-9637
office: 66-125

 

Tisdale Group

Cheng Peng

cpeng@mit.edu
office: 36-680C



Englund Group

Cole Perkinson

perkinsc@mit.edu
phone: 617-452-2326
office: 13-3029

Baldo/Bawendi Group

Nicolas Sawaya

nicolassawaya@fas.harvard.edu
phone: (619) 850 4653
office: Cv-B21, 12 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA 02138


Aspuru-Guzik Group

Katie Shulenberger

kshulenb@mit.edu
phone: (617)-253-8594
office: 2-216

Bawendi Group

Saima Siddiqui

afroz@mit.edu
office: 13-3045
phone: 617-452-4586

Baldo Group

Timothy Sinclair

tsinc@mit.edu
office: 2-216



Bawendi Group

Grigorii Skorupskii

gsk@mit.edu
office: 2-316
phone: 617-253-6192

 
Dinca Group

Melis Tekant

mtekant@MIT.EDU
phone: (617) 715-4713
office: 13-2041

Jarillo-Herrero Group

Hendrik Utzat

hutzat@mit.edu
office: 2-216
phone: 617-715-4526


Bawendi Group

Mengfei Wu

mwu1@mit.edu
phone: (617)-324-8110
office: 13-3145

Baldo/Bulovic Groups

Sihan (Jonas) Xie

sxie3@mit.edu
phone: (617) 452-3181
office: 13-3078

Bulovic Group

Hongzhou Ye

Van Voorhis Group

Han (Tony) Zhu

hanz@mit.edu
office: 13-3154

Bulovic Group

Previous

Staff


Catherine Bourgeois

Center Administrator

cmbourg@mit.edu
phone: (617) 253-0085
fax: 617-324-5275
office: 13-3057

Semion Saikin

Research Associate

saykin@fas.harvard.edu
phone (617) 495-9676
12 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA 02138

Aspuru-Guzik Group

Previous

Former Faculty


Previous

Alumni


Previous