Theme: Photonic Materials, Devices and Systems

This theme includes significant efforts in integrated photonic devices, modules and systems for applications in communications and sensing, femtosecond optics, laser technologies, photonic bandgap fibers and devices, materials fabrication, laser medicine and medical imaging, and millimeter-wave and terahertz devices.

Principal Investigators in this theme are:
Prof. Michael Watts, Prof. John Joannopoulos, Prof. Marin Soljacic, Prof. Yoel Fink, Prof. Qing Hu, Prof. Steven Johnson, Prof. Erich Ippen, Prof. Franz Kärtner, Prof. James Fujimoto, Prof. Marc Baldo, Prof. Vladimir Bulovic, Prof. Leslie Kolodziejski, Prof. Rajeev Ram, Prof. Dirk R. Englund, Prof. Kyung-Han Hong

Organizing Committee for RLE Immersion:

Ram Group
Karan Mehta | karanm@mit.edu
Ningren Han | ningren@mit.edu

Ippen, Kaertner, and Hong Groups
Patrick Callahan | pcallahn@mit.edu
Peter Krogen | pkrogen@mit.edu

Baldo Group
Tony Wu | tonyw@mit.edu

Englund Group
Sara Mouradi | smouradi@mit.edu

Soljačić and Joannopolous Groups
Yichen Shen | ycshen@mit.edu

Kolodziejski Group
Salih Magden | esm@mit.edu

Hu Group
David Burghoff | burghoff@mit.edu
Yang Yang | yang_y@mit.edu

Watts Group
Chris Poulton | cpoulton@mit.edu
Manan Raval | mraval@mit.edu

Berggren Group
Francesco Bellei | bellei@mit.edu
Qingyuan Zhao | qyzhao@mit.edu

Bulović Group
Thomas Mahony | tsmahony@mit.edu
Wendi Chang | wchang7@mit.edu

Event Photos

Rapid Research Talks and Poster Session Photos


Created with flickr slideshow.

Photos by Curt Schulz

Rapid Research Talks

Organic Optoelectronics
Tony Wu | tonyw@mit.edu
PI: Marc Baldo

Superconducting Nanowire Single-Photon Detectors
Francesco Bellei | bellei@mit.edu
PI: Karl Berggren

Thin Film Photonic Devices
Thomas Mahony | tsmahony@mit.edu
PI: Vladimir Bulović

(Quantum) Photonic Information Processing
Greg Steinbrecher | gstein@mit.edu
PI: Dirk R. Englund

Long-Wavelength Optoelectronics
David Patrick Burghoff | burghoff@mit.edu
PI: Qing Hu

Integrated Nonlinear Photonics
Patrick Callahan | pcallahn@mit.edu
PIs: Franz Kärtner and Erich Ippen

Attosecond Processes
Peter Krogen | pkrogen@mit.edu
PIs: Franz Kärtner and Kyung-Han Hong

Integrated Photonics for CMOS Interconnects and Trapped Ion Quantum Systems
Karan Mehta | karanm@mit.edu
PI: Rajeev Ram

Large-scale Nanophotonics System
Yichen Shen | ycshen@mit.edu
PI: Marin Soljačić

Large-scale Microphotonics Integration
Manan Raval | mraval@mit.edu
PI: Michael Watts

Poster Presenters

PI: Marc Baldo

Efficient Solid State Up Conversion
Mengfei Wu | mwu1@mit.edu

External Quantum Efficiency Above 100% in a Singlet-Exciton-Fission–Based Organic Photovoltaic Cell
Dan Congreve | congreve@mit.edu
Tony Wu | tonyw@mit.edu

PI: Karl Berggren

From Photon Detection to Feed-Forward: On-Chip Processing for the QPP
Qingyuan Zhao | qyzhao@mit.edu

PI: Vladimir Bulović

High Performance Near-Infrared Light-Emitting Devices using Core-Shell (PbS-CdS) Colloidal Quantum Dots
Geoffrey Supran | gjsupran@mit.edu

Inkjet Printing of Organic-Inorganic Perovskite Films for Solar Photovoltaics
Anna Osherov | osherov@mit.edu

Organic-Inorganic Perovskites for Light-Emitting Devices
Sihan Jonas Xie | sxie3@mit.edu

Recombination Kinetics and Slow Transient Behavior in Organic-Inorganic Perovskites
Sam Stranks | stranks@mit.edu

PI: Qing Hu

Terahertz Quantum Cascade Lasers: From Theory to Applications
Yang Yang | yang_y@mit.edu

Quantum Cascade Laser Frequency Combs
David Patrick Burghoff | burghoff@mit.edu

PIs: Franz Kärtner and Kyung-Han Hong

High-Energy, kHz, Picosecond Hybrid Yb-Doped Chirped-Pulse Amplifier
Peter Krogen | pkrogen@mit.edu

High-Flux Soft X-Ray High-Harmonic Generation Driven by a Multi-mJ, kHz, 2.1 um Optical Parametric Chirped-Pulse Amplifier
Greg Stein | gjstein@mit.edu

Integrated Nonlinear Photonics
Patrick Callahan | pcallahn@mit.edu

Large-Scale, Optical Timing Distribution System with Sub-Femtosecond Timing Precision
Michael Peng | mypeng@mit.edu

PI: Rajeev Ram

A Monolithic Photonic Toolbox for High-Performance Computing (HPC)
Luca Alloatti | alloatti@mit.edu

Near Infrared Raman Spectroscopy of Biologics
William Herrington | wherring@mit.edu

Thermophotonics in Light Emitting Diodes
Zheng Li | zhli@mit.edu
Jin Xue | jxue@mit.edu

PI: Marin Soljačić

Multimode One-Way Waveguides of Large Chern Numbers
Scott Skirlo | scott.skirlo@gmail.com

Optical Broadband Angular Selectivity
Yichen Shen | ycshen@mit.edu

PI: Michael Watts

An Interior-Ridge Silicon Modulator
Erman Timurdogan | ermant@mit.edu

Large-scale Microphotonics Integration
Chris Poulton | cpoulton@mit.edu

Upcoming Events

TBA

Previous Events

Mon, April 27 • 4–6pm • 36-428
Rapid Research Talks and Poster Session
Refreshments will be served at the Poster Session in the R&D (Stata, 4th flr)

 

Research Groups

ab initio Physics Group
www.rle.mit.edu/abinitio

Biomedical Optical Imaging and Biophotonics Group
www.rle.mit.edu/boib

Fibers@MIT
www.rle.mit.edu/fibers

Integrated Photonic Materials and Devices Group
www.rle.mit.edu/photonic

Millimeter-wave and Terahertz Devices Group
www.rle.mit.edu/thz

Optics and Quantum Electronics Group
www.rle.mit.edu/oqe

Organic and Nanostructured Electronics (ONE Lab)
www.rle.mit.edu/organic

Photonic Microsystems Group
www.rle.mit.edu/pmg

Photonics and Modern Electro-Magnetics Group
www.rle.mit.edu/pmem

Physical Optics and Electronics Group
www.rle.mit.edu/sclaser

Quantum Photonics Group
www.rle.mit.edu/qp

Spin & Excitonics Engineering Group
www.rle.mit.edu/seegroup

Ultrafast Optics and X-Rays Group
www.rle.mit.edu/ultrafast