The Network Coding and Reliable Communications Group, Professor Muriel Medard


Professor Muriel Medard

Muriel Médard is the Cecil H. Green Professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department at MIT and leads the Network Coding and Reliably Communications Group at the Research Laboratory for Electronics at MIT. She has co-founded two companies to commercialize network coding, CodeOn and Steinwurf. She has served as editor for many publications of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), of which she was elected Fellow, and she is currently Editor in Chief of the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications   She was President of the IEEE Information Theory Society in 2012, and served on its board of governors for eleven years. She has served as technical program committee co-chair of many of the major conferences in information theory, communications and networking.  She received the 2009 IEEE Communication Society and Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award, the 2009 William R. Bennett Prize in the Field of Communications Networking, the 2002 IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Prize Paper Award and several conference paper awards. She was co-winner of the MIT 2004 Harold E. Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award. In 2007 she was named a Gilbreth Lecturer by the U.S. National Academy of Engineering.

PDF of CV (in MIT School of Engineering Format)



Current Members

Vitaly Abdrashitov

Doctoral Student
office: 36-512
email: vit@MIT.EDU

Ali Makhdoumi

Doctoral Student
office: 36-512A
email: makhdoum@MIT.EDU

Prakash Narayana Moorthy

Post doctoral fellow
office: 36-512

Salman Salamatian

Doctoral Student
office: 36-512H


Ejder Baştuğ

Post doctoral fellow
office: 36-512l

Ahmad Beirami

Post doctoral fellow
office: 36-512


Former Members

Graduated PhD Students

Georgios Angelopoulos
Jason Cloud
Todd Coleman
Flavio du Pin Calmon
Ulric J. Ferner
Soheil Feizi
Tracey Ho
Bernhard Haeupler
Sheng Jing
Minkyu Kim
Minji Kim
Daniel Lucani
Cheng Luo
Desmond Lun
Ali ParandehGheibi
Nathanal Peranginangin
Siddharth Ray
Jay Kumar Sundararajan
Guy Weichenberg
(Shirley) Xiaomeng Shi
Fang Zhao
Weifei Zeng

Graduated Masters

David Christopher Adams
Anthony  Kim
Clifford Choute
Todd Coleman
Cecile Le Cocq
Neil Gurran
Wenbo He (UIUC) 
Jianyi Huang (UIUC)
Colleen Josephson
Minji Kim
Minkyu Kim
Ari Libarikian
Desmond Lun
Pascal Rettig
Arman Rezaee
Poompat Saengudomlert
Jay Kumar Sundararajan
Guy Weichengerg
Changqing Zheng
Anna Lee
Jianlong Tang
Pamela Youssef-Massaad
Au Teerapittayanon
Leo Urbina
Tong Wang
Weifei Zeng

Past Postdocs

Ibrahim Abou-Faycal
Viveck Cadambe
Ying Cui
Supratim Deb
Jinfeng Du
Atilla Eryilmaz
Nadia Fawaz
Kerim Fouli
Sidharth Jaggi
Minji Kim
Ullrich Mönich
Chris T. K. Ng
Ali ParandehGheibi
Lucile Sassatelli
Danail Traskov