News: Awards

Fri April 9, 2021

Doyle group paper wins Lila Albin Award

The American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) and the Indoor Environmental Quality (IEQ) Committee, have awarded the Lila Albin Award for the Best Indoor Environmental Quality Paper for 2020 to the Doyle group. The paper is entitled: Assessment and Mitigation of Aerosol Airborne SARS-CoV-2 Transmission in Laboratory and Office Environments.
News type:
Fri May 1, 2020

Committed to Caring Award, Paola Cappellaro

Quantum scientist Paola Cappellaro works to ensure students are at their “best state, and moving towards one better,” according to student nominators. Cappellaro effectively navigates the balance between attending closely to students’ needs while also giving them space to explore. Paola Cappellaro is a Professor of Nuclear Science and Engineering. She leads the Quantum Engineering...
News type:
Tue May 21, 2019

Martin Zwierlein receives Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship

Professor of physics will use U.S. Department of Defense fellowship to study the quantum world in search of new states of matter.

News type:
Wed October 24, 2018

Kang-Kuen Ni Wins 2019 I.I. Rabi Prize in AMO Physics

To recognize and encourage outstanding research in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics by investigators who have held a Ph.D. for no more than 10 years prior to the nomination deadline. The prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient.

Visit the Ni group webpage.

News type:
Tue June 19, 2018

Markus Greiner named 2018 Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellow

The Department of Defense announced the selection of 11 distinguished faculty scientists and engineers to join the 2018 Class of Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellows (VBFF).

News type:
Tue May 1, 2018

Professor Mikhail Lukin elected to National Academy of Sciences

Professor Mikhail Lukin has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.
News type:
Thu September 7, 2017

Martin Zwierlein receives 2017 I.I. Rabi Prize of the APS

For seminal studies of ultracold Fermi gases, including precision measurements of the equation of state, the observation of superfluidity, solitons, vortices, and polarons, the realization of a microscope for fermions in a lattice; and the production of chemically stable polar molecules.

News type:
Fri April 21, 2017

Prof Kleppner wins APS Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research

Prof Kleppner wins APS Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research

News type:
Thu March 24, 2016

Two CUA faculty win prestigious NSSEFF Fellowships

Hongkun Park and Wolfgang Ketterle have been chosen as the 2016 class of National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellows,
News type:
Wed January 20, 2016

CUA researchers selected as 2015 Highly Cited Researcher by Thomson Reuters

Thomson Reuters published their 2015 list of Highly Cited Researchers.  It includes 8 physicists at Harvard and MIT, three of which are CUA researchers (Misha Lukin, Martin Zwierlein, Wolfgang Ketterle).
News type: