The Research Laboratory of Electronics (RLE) at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) announces that Alan V. Oppenheim, Ford Professor of Engineering and Margaret MacVicar Faculty Fellow, is the 2005 recipient of the Signal Processing Education Award of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Signal Processing Society. The Award honors educators who have made pioneering and significant contributions to signal processing education. In particular, the Award celebrates careers of meritorious achievement in signal processing education as exemplified by writing of scholarly books and texts, course materials, and papers on education; inspirational and innovative teaching; and creativity in the development of new curricula and methodology

Jeffrey H. Shapiro, RLE Director and Julius A. Stratton Professor of Electrical Engineering, said, “It is hard to imagine anyone in the field who could be more deserving of this honor,” noting that, “Professor Oppenheim has been one of the leading lights of RLE and EECS during his long career of scientific and educational achievements at MIT. Generations of his students have gone on to be leaders in their own right in both academia and industry.”

Professor Oppenheim joined the MIT faculty in 1964. Since 1967, he has also been affiliated with MIT Lincoln Laboratory and since 1977 with the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. He leads the Digital Signal Processing Group in RLE. His research interests are in the general area of signal processing and its applications. He is co-author of the widely used textbooks “Discrete-Time Signal Processing” and “Signals and Systems.” He is also editor of several advanced books on signal processing.

The Award will be presented to Professor Oppenheim at the 2006 IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech, and Signal Processing (ICASSP) to be held Toulouse, France in May 2006.

Related Links:

Oppenheim Biography

Digital Signal Processing Group 

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

IEEE Signal Processing Society

Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science