Three RLE graduate research assistants won this year’s new $30,000 Lemelson-MIT Student Team Prize. Michael Lim, Jalal Khan, and Thomas Murphy won the team prize for their fabrication and design research in integrated optical devices. Much of this work was conducted in Professor Henry I. Smith’s NanoStructures Laboratory. All three research assistants are doctoral candidates in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.

The Lemelson-MIT Program, established in 1994, celebrates inspirational role models in the fields of science, engineering, medicine, and entrepreneurship in the hope of encouraging future generations to follow their examples. RLE’s Daniel DiLorenzo, who was a Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology graduate research assistant working with Professor John L. Wyatt, Jr., won the $30,000 Lemelson-MIT Student Prize last year.

Related Links:

MIT Tech Talk article

Information on the Lemelson-MIT Program